In What Order Should I Read Colleen Hoover Books

Want to know more about In What Order Should I Read Colleen Hoover Books? Read this article to get the information you need.

Colleen Hoover Books In Order (FREE Masterlist & Mindmap)

In What Order Should I Read Colleen Hoover Books?

Colleen Hoover is a New York Times bestselling author known for her captivating and emotionally charged novels. With over 20 books under her belt, her extensive catalog can be overwhelming for first-time readers. To ensure you embark on an immersive literary journey and fully appreciate her storytelling prowess, here’s a comprehensive guide to reading Colleen Hoover books in the optimal order.

The Slammed Series

Slammed (2012): Introduces the iconic couple, Will and Lake, as they navigate their tumultuous love story amidst secrets and family drama.

Point of Retreat (2012): Explores Will’s perspective as he grapples with his past and the consequences of his decisions.

This Girl (2013): Provides a deeper look into Lake’s character and her struggle to find her place in the wake of her relationship with Will.

The Hopeless Series

Hopeless (2012): Introduces Sky and Dean, a couple who find themselves in a dangerous and forbidden relationship.

Losing Hope (2013): Delves into the complexities of Dean’s past and his ongoing battle with addiction.

This Man (2013): Explores Sky’s resilience and determination as she faces the challenges of Dean’s troubled life.

The Confess Series

Confess (2015): Introduces Auburn and Owen, who find themselves drawn to each other despite their differences.

Maybe Someday (2014): Explores the power of music and the transformative nature of love.

Ugly Love (2014): Delves into the complexities of love and the challenges of overcoming past traumas.

Standalone Novels

It Ends with Us (2016): A poignant and thought-provoking novel that explores the complexities of domestic violence.

November 9 (2015): A unique and unconventional love story that blends time travel and parallel universes.

Layla (2019): Introduces two sisters and their unbreakable bond as they confront their past and the challenges of adulthood.

Chronological Reading Order

Main Series

  1. Slammed
  2. Point of Retreat
  3. This Girl
  4. Hopeless
  5. Losing Hope
  6. This Man
  7. Confess
  8. Maybe Someday
  9. Ugly Love
  10. It Ends with Us
  11. November 9
  12. Layla

Additional Novels

  • Too Late
  • Maybe Not
  • All Your Perfects
  • Verity
  • Without Merit

Expert Advice

  1. Start with the Slammed series: This is widely regarded as Hoover’s most iconic series and provides a strong foundation for understanding her writing style.
  2. Read the Hopeless series in order: The events and characters from the first book continue throughout the series.
  3. Explore the Confess series based on your preferences: The books in this series can be read in any order, but they do feature interconnected characters and events.
  4. Interweave standalone novels: Enhance your reading experience by alternating between the main series and standalone novels to gain a broader perspective on Hoover’s writing.

Tips for Reading Colleen Hoover Books

  1. Prepare for emotional intensity: Hoover’s novels are known for their raw and heart-wrenching storylines.
  2. Pay attention to symbolism: Hoover often uses symbolism to convey deeper meanings and foreshadow future events.
  3. Embrace the unknown: Don’t skip parts or peek at the end, as the unexpected twists and turns are part of the reading experience.
  4. Discuss with fellow readers: Engage with online book clubs or discussion forums to share your thoughts and delve deeper into the themes explored.


Q: What is Colleen Hoover’s most popular book?
A: “It Ends with Us” is Hoover’s most widely read and acclaimed novel.

Q: What is the best age range for reading Colleen Hoover’s books?
A: Most of Hoover’s novels are geared towards older teens and adults due to their mature themes.

Q: Are there any other books by Colleen Hoover?
A: Yes, Hoover has written numerous other novels, including “Too Late,” “Maybe Not,” “Ugly Love,” and “Verity.”


Whether you’re a first-time reader or a long-time fan, embarking on a literary journey with Colleen Hoover promises an unforgettable experience. By following the recommended reading order, you can immerse yourself in her captivating stories and delve into the depths of her characters. As you turn the pages, let Hoover’s words ignite your emotions, challenge your perspectives, and leave you with a profound appreciation for the power of love, resilience, and the human spirit.

Would you like to learn more about Colleen Hoover’s books and the latest developments in her writing career?

Colleen Hoover Books In Order (FREE Masterlist & Mindmap)

In What Order Should I Read Colleen Hoover Books has been read by you on our site. We express our gratitude for your visit. We hope you benefit from In What Order Should I Read Colleen Hoover Books.

You May Also Like